Articles in this section
Category / Section

Deleting a Ticket Reply or Note Message

Published:

The ticket messages can be deleted by both agents and customers based on the permissions. This option helps to remove any sensitive informations, or any credentials wrongly shared in the ticket.

Considerations before deleting a message

  1. The email notification which is sent cannot be reverted, and no email notification will be sent to the ticket participants for deleting actions.
  2. The attachments and inline images will be deleted when a message is deleted.
  3. In a ticket, at least one public reply should exist regardless of the first reply and others.
  4. Satisfaction rating message cannot be deleted.

    Check out this video tutorial.

How to delete ticket reply in the agent portal?

You can delete a reply in the agent portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which needs to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and select the Delete option to delete the reply.

Delete Ticket Option.png

  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Message dialog.

Delete Message Dialog.png

  1. After deleting the reply, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image,

Deleted Ticket History.png

Delete public comments permission

To delete a ticket reply in the agent portal, an agent should enable the Delete public comments in ticket permission. By default, Own comments will be selected, as highlighted in the following image,

Roles and Permission Page.png

Permissions Description
Own comments The agent can delete comments added by themselves.
Own or Any agent’s comments The agent can delete comments added by other agents and by themselves.
Own, any agent’s or any customer’s comments The agent can delete comments added by other agents or customers and by themselves.

Delete Public Comments in Tickets Permission.png

How to delete ticket note message in the agent portal?

You can delete a note in the agent portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which need to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and select the Delete option to delete the note.

Delete Note Option.png

  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Note dialog.

Deleted Message Dialog.png

  1. After deleting the note, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image,

Deleted Note History.png

Delete private notes permission

To delete a ticket note in the agent portal, an agent should enable the Delete private notes in ticket permission. By default, Own notes will be selected, as highlighted in the following image,

Roles and Permission Page.png

Permissions Description
Own notes The agent can delete notes added by themselves.
Own or Any agent’s notes The agent can delete notes added by other agents and by themselves.

How to delete a ticket reply in the customer portal?

You can delete a reply in the customer portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which need to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted Delete icon to delete the reply.

Deleted Message History.png

  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Message dialog.

Yes, Delete Message Pop-up.png

  1. After deleting the reply, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image:

Deleted Messages History.png

Delete reply permissions for customer portal

To delete a ticket reply in the customer portal, the user can delete comments added by themselves. Additionally, the user must have permission to reply to the ticket (For example, the user must either be a requester or added in CCs).

Was this article useful?
Like
Dislike
Help us improve this page
Please provide feedback or comments
Comments (0)
Please sign in to leave a comment